Good Things to Know Before Updating Your Tuulikki Theme
Here are some important things to know before updating your Tuulikki theme.
By default, WordPress saves the content of your website in your database. With “content” we mean pages, posts, categories, references to your media files, options of the Customizer and even Custom CSS added in the Customizer.
So what happens when I update my theme?
All the files that were constituting the old version of the theme, will be substituted with the new files. That’s why if you changed “manually” the PHP or CSS files of your theme with FTP software or with other similar methods, these edits will be lost because substituted by the new files.
How can I keep the files that I modified “manually” and at the same time update the theme without worrying about it?
With child-themes! And at this link, you will find how to use a child-theme with Tuulikki.
If I added some Custom CSS code in the Customizer, will I lose it?
No. All the CSS code that you added in the Customizer is saved on the database and it will not be deleted after updating the theme.
Does this mean that I don’t need a regular backup of my website?
We recommend you to keep regular backups, in any case, whether you are updating your theme or not.
You should always keep a backup of both your database and your files. The backup of the database should be done at least every week and of your files, at least every month, to be sure. Some hostings have plans that do the backups for you, but in case your hosting provider does not have it, our recommended plugins are: BackWPUp and UpdraftPlus. Both plugins are free or with premium (paid) versions. We think that the free versions are sufficient for standard websites, but in case you are interested in more advanced features, be sure to check also their premium plans. You will find an interesting article at this link.